ELO Electronic Literature Organization

The Winners!

Fiction short list

Poetry short list


Judging criteria

2001 Awards Ceremony

Electronic Literature Award judging criteria

There are two awards, one for poetry and the other for fiction. The winner in each category will receive $10,000 (American). Entries in both categories will be juried with the following criteria:

  • Innovative use of electronic techniques and enhancements.
  • Literary quality, understood as being related to print and electronic traditions of fiction and poetry, respectively.
  • Quality and accessibility of interface design.
  • Collections will be accepted if they are intended to be read holistically as a single work.
ELO acknowledges the support of our global sponsor, the Ford Foundation and the Rockefeller Foundation for their generous support of the Electronic Literature Directory project. We also thank our hosts at UCLA: the Center for Digital Humanities, the English Department, the Design| Media Arts Department, the School of the Arts and Architecture, and SINAPSE. We thank also the Illinois Humanities Council and the Illinois Arts Council, who supported the 2001-2002 Interactions program, 2001 Awards and founding sponsor ZDNet and founding sponsor NBCi.