ELO Electronic Literature Organization

Fiction short list

Poetry short list


Judging criteria

2001 Awards Ceremony

  John Cayley
John Cayley,
poetry winner
Caitlin Fisher
Caitlin Fisher,
fiction winner

The 2001 Electronic Literature Award winners are announced! Londoner John Cayley took the top spot for the Poetry Award, and Caitlin Fisher of Toronto won the Fiction Award. Each artist wins $10,000 (USD), and a beautiful bronze book trophy from our awards gala, held 18 May 2001, at the New School's Swayduck Auditorium, New York City.

Judges' comments on their selections for top prize are available now. Read fiction judge Larry McCaffery's comments or follow Heather McHugh's comments on the Poetry Award. Check out Video and Photos from the 2001 Awards Ceremony. See also who made the esteemed and diverse short lists in the Poetry and Fiction categories. Our final judges worked from specific judging criteria to determine the winners.

ELO extends many thanks to the judges and all the contributing artists who have made this first ELO award year so competitive. ELO also thanks Robert Polito, Luis Jaramillo, and the many other staff of the New School, Manhattan, for hosting our event. And we thank our many guests who attended the Awards, and gave all the Short Listed artists recognition and enthusiastic applause.




ELO acknowledges the support of our global sponsor, the Ford Foundation and the Rockefeller Foundation for their generous support of the Electronic Literature Directory project. We also thank our hosts at UCLA: the Center for Digital Humanities, the English Department, the Design| Media Arts Department, the School of the Arts and Architecture, and SINAPSE. We thank also the Illinois Humanities Council and the Illinois Arts Council, who supported the 2001-2002 Interactions program, 2001 Awards and founding sponsor ZDNet and founding sponsor NBCi.