Pushing Hypertext in New Directions

Matthew Mirapaul’s New York Times column today focuses on two of the most interesting new hypertext releases of the summer – Judd Morrisey’s “The Jew’s Daughter,” which uses Flash to build a shifiting hypertext narrative via mousever links, and “aspergillum gently,” a a multimedia adaptation of “Pedro Páramo,” an existentialist 1955 novel by the Mexican author Juan Rulfo constructed by New York artist Isabel Chang.

Thinking Outside the Book

An LA Times article describes ELO’s first reading event, held this May at the home of Richard Bangs in Redmond, WA. The article includes interviews with e-lit authors and critics including Robert Coover, M.D. Coverley, Katherine Hayles, Shelley Jackson, Dirk Stratton and Rob Wittig. LA Times writer Kim Murphy focuses the piece on the artistic and economic implications of electronic lit. (Abstract available, article can be purchsed for $2.95)
[Link updated April 2005; the article was removed from the Web]

What About E-Reading?

The July/August issue of Book magazine offers a well-balanced survey of the field of electronic publishing, from Project Gutenberg to the latest in e-book and E-ink technology.

The article, by Rob Brookman, offers the insights of both authors and technologists. When asked if he’d be interested in exploring the interactive and hypertextual potential of e-books, Mark Danielewski, the author of the innovative novel House of Leaves, says he’d “rather give House of Leaves to a computer guy and see what he came up with.”

ELO Announces International Board of Literary Advisors

The Electronic Literature Organization today announced the formation of an international Board of Literary Advisors. ELO’s literary advisors include leading writers, critics, editors and publishers from the worlds of electronic and print literature. This group of thought leaders will help to advance the discourse of electronic literature, help plan ELO’s 2001 Future of Publishing Conference, and will judge the ELO Electronic Literature Prizes. We are grateful to this esteemed group for choosing to support our endeavors:

Espen Aarseth
Mark Amerika
Robert Arellano
Richard Bangs
John Barth
Jay David Bolter
Michael Berube
T.C. Boyle
Jane Yellowlees Douglas
Moran Entrekin
Edward Falco
Loss Pequeno Glazier
Carolyn Guertin
Carolyn Guyer
Katherine Hayles
Michael Joyce
Rob Kendall
Raine Koskimaa
George Landow
Thomas LeClair
Brian Lennon
Jennifer Ley
Judy Malloy
Harry Mathews
Adrian Miles
Larry McCaffery
Jerome McGann
Heather McHugh
Nancy Lin
George Plimpton
Jim Rosenberg
Barney Rosset
Joanna Scott
Joseph Tabbi
Takayuki Tatsumi
Susana Pajares Tosca
Sue Thomas
Stephanie Strickland
Robert Wittig

Posted in