CFP: International Conference on Digital Media and Textuality (5 July; 3-5 Nov 2016)

CFP: International Conference on Digital Media and Textuality
3rd to 5th November 2016, Universität Bremen, Germany
Conference chair: Dr. Daniela Côrtes Maduro
Deadline for Submissions: 5 July 2016


Carlos Reis, Director of the Centre for Portuguese Literature, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Dene Grigar, President of the Electronic Literature Organization, Washington State University Vancouver, USA
Joseph Tabbi, Electronic Book Review (EBR) Editor in Chief, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
Manuel Portela, Director of the Materialities of Literature Program, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Maria Mencia, ELO Board of Directors, University of Kingston, United Kingdom
Scott Rettberg, ELMCIP project leader, University of Bergen, Norway

The use of computers as tools of literary and artistic creation has produced further paradigms within literary, language and media studies, but it has also promoted the resurfacing of a series of age-old debates. Digital media and digital technologies have extended the range of multimodal reading experiences, but they have also led us to readdress deep-rooted notions of text or medium. The dynamic network of media, art forms and genres seems to have been once again reconfigured.  However, practices and debates that have preceded the emergence of the computer medium have not been discarded. In fact, they have been incorporated into experiences with the medium and have contributed to shaping digital artifacts. The “International Conference on Digital Media and Textuality” aims to examine this process. This conference seeks to move beyond the “old and new” dispute and to help us identify intersections, exchanges, challenges, dead-ends and possibilities. In order to achieve this goal, the panels of this conference are designed to cover multiple topics and fields of research, from media archaeology to teaching in a digital age. During the conference, participants will also have the opportunity to visit the Exhibition “Shapeshifting Texts” and attend an evening of performances. For further information, please contact the conference chair, Dr. Daniela Côrtes Maduro, at or follow:

– the conference’s website at:;

– the Facebook page at:;

– the Twitter page:



Proposals of 500 words min. and 1000 max. may be uploaded to the online reviewing platform EasyChair at: The deadline for submission is 5 July 2016. Submissions will undergo a double-blind peer review process.

We welcome individual contributions (one per author) in English, no more than 20 minutes, which can be included, even if broadly, in one of the following panels:

Panel I – ‘Nothing comes of nothing’ – This panel will be comprised of presentations that link electronic literature with literary, communicative or artistic practices which have preceded and influenced digital forms and genres.

Panel II – Introspective Texts – For this panel, we will accept presentations that focus on the way texts can be self-reflexive and mirror the process of their own creation or reading.

Panel III – Where is narrative? – This panel will be dedicated to ways in which digital media can be used to tell a story or to structure a narrative.

Panel IV – Trans-multi-inter-meta: the medium – This panel will focus on the role of the medium in the production, transmission and understanding of text, as well as on the conditions of media interaction, convergence, and divergence.

Panel V – Teaching the digital – This panel is focused on digital literacy and the teaching of electronic literature.

Panel VI – Tracking and visualizing texts – This panel is dedicated to the collection, archive and preservation of literature. It also aims to address ways of analyzing and categorizing large amounts of data.



Ana Teresa Peixinho – Journalism and Narratology, University of Coimbra, Portugal
António Sousa Ribeiro – German Studies, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Chiao-I Tseng – Film Studies and Multimodality, Universität Bremen, Germany
Espen Aarseth – Game Studies and Electronic Literature, Center for Computer Games Research, IT University of Copenhagen.
Janina Wildfeuer – Linguistics and Multimodality, Universität Bremen, Germany
John Bateman – Linguistics and Multimodality, Universität Bremen, Germany
Jorge Martins Rosa – Cyberculture and Digital Media, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
María Teresa Vilariño Picos – Narratology and Digital Culture, Universidad de Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Ognyan Seizov – Communication Sciences and Multimodality, Universität Bremen, Germany
Osvaldo Silvestre – Literary Theory and Brazilian Studies, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Paulo Silva Pereira – Baroque and Portuguese Literature, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Pedro Serra – Cyberculture and Literature, Universidad de Salamanca, Spain
Sandy Baldwin – Electronic Literature and New Media, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
Serge Bouchardon – Communication Sciences and Electronic Literature, University of Technology of Compiègne, France