ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships

The American Council of Learned Societies has announced its first annual competition for the ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships, underwritten by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The program invites applications to pursue “digitally-based research projects in all disciplines of the humanities and humanities-related social sciences.” ACLS will award up to five fellowships to support an academic year “dedicated to work on a major scholarly project that takes a digital form.” Each fellowship carries a stipend of up to $55,000 toward an academic year’s leave, and provides for project costs up to $25,000.

Projects might include, but are not limited to:

–Digital research archives
–New media representations of extant data
–innovative databases
–Digital tools that further humanistic research

ACLS does not support creative works (i.e., novels or films), textbooks, straightforward translations, or purely pedagogical projects.

For complete information and application instructions, visit the ACLS Digital Innovation Fellowships online. The deadline for receipt of applications is November 10, 2005.